2019 Community Breastfeeding Awards

The 2019 Award Ceremony will be held at Goodman Community Center on 

Friday, April 12 at 6:30pm.

Learn more about our Community Breastfeeding Awards 

2019 Community Breastfeeding Award Nominations

Criteria for Nominations:

  • Nominees should demonstrate a strong commitment to the promotion, protection and support of the practice of breastfeeding.
  • Nominees must live or work in South Central Wisconsin
  • BCSCW Board members and previous awardees are not eligible for awards
  • Repeat nominations encouraged from previous years!
  • Nominations are currently CLOSED.
Choose the appropriate link to fill out a nomination in the following categories:

(An individual or organization providing health care services)

(A business or public place provides a welcoming and supportive environment)

(An individual or group that works to protect, promote and support)

Breastfeeding Friendly Business/Public Place Award
Recognizing a business or public place that supports breastfeeding mothers by welcoming them and providing a supportive environment in their establishment for women to breastfeed.

Previous winners: 

  • 2008: Happy Bambino
  • 2009: Dane County Regional Airport
  • 2010: Hy-Vee - Madison East
  • 2012: Madison Public Library Sequoya Branch
  • 2013: Madison Children's Museum
  • 2014: Madison Public Library Central Branch
  • 2015: HyVee Store #1184 - Fitchburg
  • 2016: Dr. Amy Anderson, Bakke Clinic, DeForest, WI
  • 2018: Office of Child Care and Family Resources, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • 2019: New Moon Wellness

Breastfeeding Friendly Employer Award

Nomination for a workplace that creates an environment that supports and respects a woman’s decision to breastfeed, recognizes that breastfeeding is a benefit to the workplace and encourages that recognition in others. Given to employers who actively support the efforts of their breastfeeding employees when they return to work after their maternity/adoption leave. (Examples of support include providing flexible breaks and scheduling; clean, comfortable, and private space; paid parental leave; .)

Previous winners:

  • 2008: UW Bacteriology Department
  • 2009: Wingra Family Medical Clinic
  • 2010: Nicki's Diapers
  • 2012: Hill Farms State Transportation Building
  • 2013: Willy Street Co-op
  • 2014: J. H. Findorff and Son
  • 2015: Globe University
  • 2016: UW Hospital & Clinics (large employer)
  • 2016: Nutrition and Health Associates, Inc., Rock County (small employer)
  • 2017: Zimbrick, Inc.
  • 2018: Access Community Health Centers
  • 2019: ZenDesk

Healthcare Award
Nomination recognizing a health care provider that has taken steps to promote, protect, and support breastfeeding. Given to individuals or organizations providing healthcare services who make a difference in breastfeeding outcomes by providing support and education for staff and/or families.

Previous winners:

  • 2008: Adria Cannon, IBCLC | Madison Breastfeeding Help
  • 2009: Rosemarie Bertrand | Small Miracle
  • 2010: Ingrid Andersson, CNM | Community Midwives, LLC
  • 2012: Jill Mallory, MD
  • 2013: Anne Ebert, Pharmacist at Meriter Hospital
  • 2014: Meriter Hospital Neonatologists
  • 2015: Dean Clinics - Pediatrics
  • 2016: Robbie Sonnentag, Women & Children Director, St. Mary's Hospital
  • 2017: Patty Smith, OTR, IBCLC
  • 2018: Lindsay Schehr, APNP
  • 2019: Tehmina Islam, CPM, LM
  • 2019: Leila Midelfort, MD

Breastfeeding Advocate Award
Recognizing an individual or group that has taken steps to promote, protect, and support breastfeeding. Given to individuals/groups who work to promote the practice of breastfeeding and/or protect and advocate for the rights of breastfeeding mothers.

Previous winners: 

  • 2008: Legislative Advocate: Dane County Supervisor Carousel Bayrd
  • 2009: Jan Raymond
  • 2010: Legislative Advocate: Senator Fred Risser
  • 2012: Sue Stowell, RN, IBCLC
  • 2013: Laurel Franczek, La Leche League Leader
  • 2014: Mothers' Milk Alliance
  • 2015: Mary Vasquez
  • 2016: Legislative Advocate: State Representative Lisa Subeck
  • 2017: Kim Reain, RN, IBCLC
  • 2018: Jeannie Manthe, La Leche League Leader
  • 2019: Harambee Village

Breastfeeding Friendly Childcare Award
Nomination recognizing child care facilities that have taken steps to promote, protect, and support breastfeeding. Given to childcare centers or family daycare centers that support the efforts of breastfeeding mothers whose child is in their care.

Previous winners: 

  • 2012: Wee Start Day Care
  • 2013: Childcare Center at ARC
  • 2014: Pooh Bear Childcare
  • 2015: Asra's Family Childcare
  • 2016: Mariposa Learning Center, Stoughton, WI
  • 2017: Tanya's Big House 4 Kidz, Verona, WI

Distinguished Service Award

Special recognition given by the BCSCW Community Breastfeeding Awards committee to those who have provided exceptional service to the lactation community.

  • 2012: Anne Altshuler, RN, MS, IBCLC, La Leche League Leader
  • 2013: Anne Eglash, MD, IBCLC, FABM
  • 2014: Cathy Szudy, RN, IBCLC
  • 2015: Hershey Barnett-Bridges, RN
  • 2017: Carol Schwab, RD, CLE
  • 2018: Ildi Martonffy, MD, IBCLC
  • 2019: Sharon Marshall, RN, IBCLC
© 2015 Breastfeeding Coalition of South Central Wisconsin
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software